Sunday, July 24, 2011

Second Season Sowing

This week's #SeedChat topic is about Second Season Sowing. Get a second chance to start a garden this year or learn how to extend your growing season with a second dose of seed starting. Join us for #SeedChat on Twitter at 9PM Eastern 8PM Central 6PM Pacific on Wednesday, July 27th to share your tips and resources for second season sowing. If you have a question you'd like an answer to, submit it under our questions tab and we'll address it during #SeedChat

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Grafting Night On SeedChat

Tonight #SeedChat will discuss garden grafting.  Have experience with grafting plants? Join us at 8pm Central, 9pm Eastern, and 6pm Pacific.

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Woody Plants from Seeds & Cuttings With @NewPlants as Guest Host

This week's #SeedChat will be guest-hosted by Tim Wood who blogs as "The Plant Hunter." You may know him as @NewPlants on Twitter. He's in charge of Product Development and is the Marketing Manager at Spring Meadow Nursery. Tim travels the world in search of news plants to introduce to home gardeners and speaks with many plant propagators and breeders. Tim will be on hand to talk about propagating woody plants (trees & shrubs) from seeds and cuttings.

If you have a question that you'd like answered please post it in our question form. We'll update this post with the preview of the questions submitted for Tim.

"Tree or shrub you don't recommend trying to propagate at home because it takes too long or is difficult."

"If a plant is patented and I propagate it at home am I at legal risk if I don't try to sell it?"

"If I hybridize a plant or find a sport in my garden, how can I get it in the garden market?"

"Have there been any prosecutions of people propagating patented plants?"

"Since you travel the world looking for new plants, what's been your most interesting find?"

"Any plant you wish you had introduced or now regret introducing?"

"When is the best time to take cuttings of woody plants?"

"Interested in propagating rhododendron maximum (by cuttings or seed). don't know which is easier, and if I do cuttings have read one set of instructions which says to keep under fluorescent lights for 18 hours a day and another set which says to keep out of direct sunlight. Would be interested in which is best."